Pediatric Orthopaedic Study Group

Pediatric Orthopaedic Study Group (POSG) started in 1974 by Drs. Hamlet Peterson of the Mayo Clinic and Henry Cowell of the duPont Institute as a research forum for young pediatric orthopedists.  Originally called "Pediatric Orthopedic Travel Group", the group began with a meeting in Rochester, Minnesota in September 1974 with nine attendees.  By the second meeting, the name had been changed to "The Pediatric Orthopedic Study Group" (POSG). It was originally directed by "co-chairmen" rather than a president. The only strong regulation was that each person attending a meeting had to present a paper. As the organization grew rapidly, the requirement which insisted that each attendee present a paper and the strong desire to allow as much discussion time as possible led to the development of a rapid-fire program format where subjects were brought up for 4-5 minutes of formal presentation followed by 10-20 minutes of discussion time.

Eventually, pressures would force the POSG to merge with the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society (POS).  At the combined annual meeting in 1983 each member body agreed to amalgamation, so formal union took place the following year in 1984 with the election of Dr. John Roberts as it's first president.

POSG Officers (1975-1983)


1975-1977 Henry Cowell, MD, Hamlet Peterson, MD, Lynn Staheli, MD


1978 Henry Cowell, MD

1979 Hamlet Peterson, MD


1980 Lynn Staheli, MD

1981 Dennis Lyne, MD

1982 Dennis Drummond, MD

1983 E. William Schmitt, Jr., MD


1975-1979 E. William Schmitt, Jr., MD

1980-1983 Kaye E. Wilkins, MD