POSNA Annual Meeting

5/11/2011 12:00:00 AM — 5/14/2011 12:00:00 AM
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Chair Person:
James McCarthy, MD
Final Program:
Final Program
CME Certificate


May 11
Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) in Pediatric Orthopaedics What is it? Why Does It Matter? And, How Should You Do It?
Chair Person:
James O. Sanders, MD
Final Program:
CME Certificate

2011 Recognition Awards

Best Clinical Paper

Scott N. Crawford, MD, Lorrin S.K. Lee, MD, Byron Izuka, MD

Closed Treatment of Overriding Distal Radius Fractures without Reduction in Pediatric Patients

Best Scientific Paper

Jacob S. Vandermeer, Nobuhiro Kamiya, MD, PhD, James Aya-ay, Amanda Garces, Richard Browne, PhD, Harry K.W. Kim, MD, MSc, Center for Excellence in Hip Disorders

Local Administration of Bisphosphonate and BMP-2 Stimulates Bone Formation and Decreases Femoral Head Deformity Following Ischemis Necrosis of the Immature Femoral Head

Best E-Poster

Dennis S. Weiner, MD, Jason C. Tank, MD, David K. Jonah, MA, Steven E. Kopits (deceased), MD, William C. Schrader, MD

Operative Management of the Severe Genu Valgum Deformity in the Ellis-van Creveld Syndrome

Best Poster

William Hennrikus, MD, John Kobilis, Jane Hamp, RN

Referral Patterns To Aa Pediatric Orthopaedic Clinic: Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgeons Are Primary Care Musculoskeletal Medicine Physicians

Distinguished Achievement Award

Charles T. Price, MD

For his outstanding service to the organization, especially as President 2003-2004. For his direction and expansion of the International Pediatric Orthopaedic Symposium. For his contributions to the education of orthopaedic surgery residents and fellows.

Special Efforts and Excellence Award

Todd A. Milbrandt, MD

While still a candidate member, he designed and implemented the new POSNA website, thereby saving POSNA over one hundred thousand dollars.

Humanitarian Award

Kaye Wilkins, MD

In recognition of efforts to improve the orthopaedic care of the world’s children. For his special commitment to the education of the physicians and the care of the children of Haiti. For providing orthopaedic education in more than fifty three countries. For his refusal to be intimidated by political unrest, natural disasters, or state department watch lists.

Presidential Guest Speaker

Kaye E Wilkins, MD