Pediatric Orthopaedic Society

Started in 1971 by a small group of specialized orthopaedists, the society was initially very restrictive in order that the discussion of problems would be at a high level by people with a great deal of experience. It was recognized that many orthopedic surgeons who had made significant contributions to pediatric orthopedics did not necessarily limit their practice exclusively to children, however, the feeling was that membership should be based upon demonstrated interest and contributions made to the clinical management, teaching, or research in pediatric orthopedics. Although never written, there was a policy that there would only be one member from each of the well-known pediatric orthopedic institutions. This policy was a major impetus to the later establishment of the Pediatric Orthopedic Study Group since there would be little likelihood of membership for orthopedists first assistant positions at that time.  The society would later merge with the POSG and eventually form the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America.

Charter Members (1971)

Charter Members (1971)
Anthony J. Bianco, Jr., MD
Sherman S. Coleman, MD
Burr H. Curtis, MD
William T. Green, MD
Paul P. Griffin, MD
Wood W. Lovell, MD
G. Dean MacEwen, MD
Douglas W. McKay, MD
Charles T. Ryder, MD
Robert L. Samilson, MD
Frank H. Stelling, III, MD
Mihran O. Tachdjian, MD

POS Officers (1970-1984)

1970 William T. Green
1971 Burr H. Curtis
1972 G. Dean MacEwen
1973 Frank H. Stelling, III
1974 Wood W. Lovell
1975 Alvin J. Ingram
1976 Mihran O. Tachdjian
1977 Paul P. Griffin
1978 Sherman S. Coleman
1980 John E. Hall
1981 Douglas W. McKay
1982 Anthony J. Bianco, Jr.
1983 Eugene E. Bleck

1971 Douglas W. McKay
1974 Robert B. Winter
1978 Hugh G. Watts

1971 Paul P. Griffin
1974 Wilber G. Westin
1978 David H. Sutherland
1981 Hamlet A. Peterson

Executive Board “At Large” Members
1971 Robert L. Samilson, Frank Stelling
1972 Wood W. Lovell, Robert L. Samilson
1973 Anthony J. Bianco, Jr., Wood W. Lovell
1974 Albert B. Ferguson, Jr., Anthony J. Bianco, Jr.
1975 John C. Wilson, Albert B. Ferguson, Jr.
1976 Seymour Zimbler, John C. Wilson
1977 Henry R. Cowell, MD, Seymour Zimbler, MD
1978 Lynn T. Staheli, MD, Henry R. Cowell, MD
1979 Robert N. Hensinger, MD, Lynn T. Staheli, MD
1980 Mervyn R. Letts, MD, Robert N. Hensinger, MD
1981-82 Marc A. Asher, MD, Mervyn R. Letts, MD

1983 – 1984
John Roberts, MD
Hugh G. Watts, MD
Kaye E. Wilkins, MD
Hamlet Peterson, MD
Past Presidents
Eugene E. Bleck, MD
E. William Schmitt, MD
At-Large Members
Newton McCollough, III, MD
Colin F. Moseley, MD