Post Meeting: 2021 Annual Meeting

A letter from the Program Chair, recognition, awards, and more

Thank you 2021 Double Diamond Sponsors:
Zimmer Biomet | Stryker | OrthoPediatrics | Medtronic

We hope that those of you that attended the 2021 POSNA Annual Meeting in Dallas, TX (either in-person or virtual) enjoyed the experience!  Clearly this has been a unique year that has required patience and flexibility of both the leadership and the membership, but in the end our beloved Society made an emphatic statement in holding one of the first successful in-person orthopaedic meetings since the COVID pandemic: We are back! For those that could attend in-person, it was so refreshing to reconnect with professional colleagues and old friends face to face. In addition to providing much needed reunions, the meeting combined cutting-edge educational material with a true Texas experience all coordinated by our local hosts, Dan Sucato, MD and Amy McIntosh, MD. 
I had the pleasure of chairing this year’s program and appreciate the guidance from the Program Committee: Jeff Martus, MD; Matt Oetgen, MD, MBA; and Nick Fletcher, MD. Michael Vitale, MD, MPH presided over the meeting and transferred the presidency of POSNA to Min Kocher, MD, who gave us his vision of “POSNA back on its feet” for the upcoming year. 
The Pre-Course (Optimizing Performance Throughout Your Career: How to Take Your Practice to the Next Level in the Clinic, Operating Room, and Your Institution), organized by Lindsay Andras, MD, was outstanding with a world-renowned faculty sharing their research and experience on this topic, including some very interesting debates and panel-audience discussions. 
For the general scientific program, 924 abstracts were submitted. We are grateful for the 123 volunteer readers who participated in the grading process. This resulted in 160 podium presentations from 95 different institutions and 12 different countries as well as 79 ePosters. Pre-recorded content available online included video abstracts, ePosters as narrated powerpoints, and six outstanding symposia. In addition, Dan Miller, MD and Siobhan Murphy-Zane, MD, co-chaired the 2021 Arabella Leet Memorial Young Member Forum focusing on the pediatric orthopaedic family. 
For the first time, subspecialty day was moved from Friday afternoon to Thursday morning. On Saturday morning, before the final portion of the general program on QSVI, Coleen Sabatini, MD, MPH and Corinna Franklin, MD, co-chaired a POSNA critical issue symposium on justice, equality, diversity, and inclusion in pediatric orthopaedics. This was a memorable event that included an enlightening panel discussion from several members of our own Society. 
The Steel Lecture was given by Jason Dorsey, a well-known speaker and researcher on generational differences. Peter Newton, MD was the Presidential Guest Speaker. Award recipients were Lori Karol, MD, who received the Distinguished Achievement Award for 2021; Behrooz Akbarnia, MD who received the same award for 2020. Robert Cady, MD, who accepted the Humanitarian Award for work in Haiti treating clubfeet; and Ken Noonan, MD, received the Special Effort and Excellence Award for his work in launching JPOSNA.
In addition to the many educational opportunities, Dallas provided outstanding venues for dining, exercising, catching up with old friends and making new ones. The closing reception was a casual and enjoyable event held at the Backyard in Dallas. As we left Dallas to return home, Matt Oetgen, MD, MBA, and the Program Committee were already working on creating another exciting program for POSNA 2022 in Vancouver, Canada hosted by Kishore Mulpuri, MD and Firoz Miyanji, MD.
Thank you to the POSNA staff for their amazing and tireless efforts for the organization and this meeting. Their professionalism, commitment, and expertise were incredible. I also would like to thank the POSNA leadership for their vision and perseverance in holding a truly hybrid event given all that occurred this past year.

See you in Vancouver!
Woody Sankar, MD
2021 Program Committee Chair

2021 Awards

  • 2021 Distinguished Achievement Award: Lori Karol, MD - Children's Hospital Colorado
    Dr. Karol's tribute video can be found through the link here:
  • Humanitarian Award: Robert Cady, MD
  • Special Effort and Excellence Award: Kenneth Noonan, MD, MHCDS - University of Wisconsin Madison
  • St. Giles Young Investigator Award: The Impact of E-cigarette Vaping on Bone Metabolism
    Romie F. Gibly, MD, PhD - Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago
  • Arthur H. Huene Award: Acute Interpositional Adipose Grafts to Reduce Arrest in Physeal Fractures - Eric W. Edmonds, MD - Rady Children's Hospital-San Diego
  • Angela S. Kuo Memorial Award: Physeal Injuries: Creation of an Animal Model and Subsequent Analysis - Joshua M. Abzug, MD - University of Maryland
  • Best ePoster: #54 What are the Causes and Consequences of Delayed Surgery for Pediatric Tibial Spine Fractures? - Neeraj M. Patel, MD, MPH, MBS
  • Best Video Abstract: #6 Tibial Spine / Eminence Fracture – Suture Fixation - Indranil “Neel” Kushare, MD - Texas Children's Hospital
  • Best Clinical Award Paper: #109 Nonoperative Management of Femoroacetabular Impingement: Clinical Outcomes at 5 Years – A Prospective Study - Andrew Pennock, MD - Rady Children's Hospital-San Diego
  • Best Basic Science Award Paper: #111 Activation of a Central Immunosuppressive Cascade Prevents Ischemia Reperfusion Injury After Acute Compartment Syndrome in a Murine Model - Matthew E. Oetgen, MD, MBA - Children's National Hospital
  • Best Trauma Paper: #16 Operative Versus Nonoperative Treatment of Z-Type Comminuted Clavicle Fractures in Adolescents: A Sub-stratified Cohort Analysis
    Coleen Sabatini, MD, MPH - UCSF Benioff Children's Hospital Oakland
  • Peter F.  Armstrong, MD Shriners Hospitals for Children Award, Best Quality, Safety, Value Paper: #97 Effectiveness of Various Cast Covers in the Pediatric Population
    Verena Schreiber, MD - Nicklaus Children's Hospital

Click here to view the full meeting recap