POSNA Annual Meeting

May 16 — May 16, 2012
Denver, CO
Chair Person:
Michael G. Vitale, MD, MPH
Final Program:
CME Form


May 16, 2012
Adolescent and Young Adult Hip Disorders
Chair Person:
Young-Jo Kim, MD
Final Program:
CME Form

2012 Recognition Awards

Distinguished Achievement Award

James H. Beaty, MD

For excellence in Leadership in the pediatric and general orthopaedic community as president of POSNA, AAOS, and ABOS. For dedication to education as author and editor of Orthopaedic Texts, Including Operative Pediatric Orthopaedics, Selected Bibliography of Pediatric Orthopaedics, Fractures in Children, and Campbell’s Operative Orthopaedics. For advancement of Pediatric Orthopaedic Knowledge through his contributions to original research and peer-reviewed literature.
View Interview

Special Efforts and Excellence Award

Michael G. Vitale, MD

In recognition of his outstanding service to the mission of POSNA. Especially his leadership on the Industrial Relations Committee in fostering increased sponsorship of our educational and research programs.

Humanitarian Award

J. Norgrove Penny, MD

In recognition of his outstanding service to the underserved children of the world with musculoskeletal disorders especially through CBM International and the Uganda Clubfoot project in Africa. For the expansion of the Uganda project to Cure Clubfoot Worldwide. For his training of allied health professionals throughout the world to bring improved care to these needy children. For his and his families’ sacrifices for a higher medical purpose.

Humanitarian Award

Shafique P. Pirani, MD

In recognition of his outstanding service to the underserved children of uganda with clubfeet through the Uganda Sustainable Clubfoot Project. For his training of countless health professionals on the Ponseti method. For his outstanding organizational skills to mobilize both Canada and Uganda to support and sustain these meritorious efforts. For the expansion of these programs beyond the boundaries of Uganda to Cure Clubfoot Worldwide. For his and his families’ sacrifices for a higher medical purpose.

Presidential Guest Speaker

James Kasser, MD

2012 Research Awards

Best Clinical Paper

Aaron Morgenstein, MD; Neeley Buhr, MS; Rebecca Davis, MS; Vishwas R. Talwalkar, MD; Henry J. Iwinksi, MD; Janet Walker, MD; Todd A. Milbrandt, MD, MS

Differences between Reported and Measured Wear-rates in Clubfoot Bracing via a Novel Pressure Sensor

Best Scientific Paper

Olumide Aruwajoye, MS; Jeffrey Stetler; Alec Christian Stall, MD; Harry H.W. Kim, MD

Effects of Non-weight Bearing on the Femoral Head following Ischemic Osteonecrosis

Best E-Poster

Yael Gelfer, MD, PhD; Mia Dunkley; Deborah Jackson; Cristina Rafter; Jennifer Armstrong; Evette Parnell; Deborah Eastwood, MD

A Physiotherapist-led Ponseti Service for the Management of Idiopathic and Non-idiopathic Clubfoot Deformity

Best Poster

William F. Lavelle, MD; Nathaniel R. Ordway, MS, PE; Yushek Pun, BS; Stephen A. Albanese, MD

Biomechanics of Direct Transverse Plane Vertebral Derotation at the Bone Screw Interface: Do Bicortical Pedicle Screws Make a Difference?